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BACKGROUND / HISTORY

« Department of Motor Vehicles and Bureau of Automotive
Repair partnership

 DMV'’s role in the Smog Check Program

» Registration renewal notification

 California Vehicle Code Section 1661 requires the
department to notify the registered owner of each vehicle
of the date that the registration renewal fees for the
vehicle are due, at least 60 days prior to that due date.
The department shall indicate the fact that the required
notice was mailed by a notation in the department’s
records.

o Statewide shift to online services



JUSTIFICATION

» Approximately 38,000,000 paper renewal notices mailed
annually

* Potential savings of $10,000,000 annually assuming a 50%
adoption rate

e Customer convenience



LAWS / REGULATIONS

 California Health and Safety Code - HSC § 44041

* In order to expedite emissions testing and to eliminate
errors in the transcription of vehicle data, the department
shall, in cooperation with the Department of Motor
Vehicles, furnish bar code labels or bar coded
documents to all vehicle owners at the time of their
vehicle's annual registration renewal.The labels or
documents shall contain vehicle identification numbers
and other vehicle-specific information, to be determined
by the department, which can be recorded by smog
check station technicians utilizing the scanning devices
required by Section 44036.



https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&originatingContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&pubNum=1000213&refType=LQ&originatingDoc=I8ea6a6401ac011e9bbaca249e43ff9f2&cite=CAHSS44036

TENTATIVE TIMELINE

« Begin digital notification opting in — First Quarter 2022
« Digital notification rollout — First Quarter 2022

« Significant Outreach Planned
* Press Releases
DMV Web Page



PAPER
RENEWAL
NOTICE -
SMOG CHECK
REQUIRED

| MERTARIN A AN

VEHICLE REGISTRATION RENEWAL NOTICE

[ VIN MAKE YR BODY TYPE _ LICENSE PLATE | [ AMOUNT DUE DUEDATE
[ — 18U 017 PK 1] $224 10531/2021

SMOG Certification Required (See reverse side of notice).
(I Please take this notice to a SMOG check station. <

To renew, just provide:

I ( Renewal Fees )

I ( SWOG Gettification )(see reverse side of otie)

T rootet ey veick Use Tax )

= ( Return by MAIL only )

I FEES

REGISTRATION FEE 3119
LICENSE FEE (May be an income fax deducion) $20
WEIGHT FEE $80
SPECIAL PLATE FEE $0
COUNTY/DISTRICT FEES $5

OWNER RESPONSIBILITY FEE $0

TOTAL DUE ON OR BEFORE 10/31/2021 §224]

OR $23 TO FILE PLANNED NONOPERATION

LATE PAYMENT

POSTMARKED RENEWAL PNO

After 10/31/21 through 11/10/21 $254 $43

i PLA:\‘NEDtTONO:"’E R(APLK;;“ After 11/10/21 through 11/30/21 $274 $58

you plan not to operate

this vehick, please check thalbas After 11/30/21 through 01/29/22 $344 $113
and return the bottom part with

your PNO payment. AFTER 01/29/2022 $344 NOPNO

DETACH ANDRETURN
Planned Nonoperation 020301 05120000010902 0022401 30410803020000

Change of Address (see back)
ForDMVUseOnly

i s
000 F

-ITY CA 95601-9998

00050302000 0000012000 16213999 76 1212118 __CO40521F01 00248 __pyoo
LICENSE NUMBER WARE

[ ] 1su
VIN

 c— |
[DWMV USE__ DUE DATE _ AMOUNT DUE
10/31/2021 $224

SR

MAKE PAYMENT TO:

DMV RENEWAL
P.Q. BOX 942897
INTO CA 94297-0897

tllid et bl e e gy e oy

020301051200000109020022401304104030200000005030200000000120001621399976




PAPER
RENEWAL
NOTICE —
STAR STATION
CERTIFICATION
REQUIRED

e

VEHICLE REGISTRATION RENEWAL NOTICE
{ﬁ VIN MAKE YR BODYTYPE LICENSE PLATE | (AMOUNTDUE _ DUE DATE
[ ] MAKE 2009 PK [ ] $225 10/312021_|
SMOG Cetrtification Required at a STAR station

) (See reverse side of notice)
(IIE" Please take this notice to a STAR station 1)

To renew, just provide: £ EEES \
REGISTRATION FEE 319
l:g; ( Renewal Fees > ‘I;VKEIEGNPS'?FFgg (May be an income tax deduclion) :g
[SPECIAL PLATE FEE $83
Manufacturer Recall # 2 COUNTY/DISTRICT FEES M
[ __| Prodf o Corection Carificate Reguited OWNER RESPONSIBLLITY FEE $0
‘Contactyour local dealershij
free repair-Problems cal J o
% ARB 1-800-242-4450.
s ( Evidence of Liability Insurance )(see reverse side of notice)
& ( SMOG Certification )(see reverse side of notice)
b TOTAL DUE ON OR BEFORE 10/31/2021 $225
I3  (_Proof of Heavy Vehicle Use Tax )
OR $23 TO FILE PLANNED NONOPERATION
= ( Retum by MAILonly ) LATE PAYMENT
POSTMARKED RENEWAL PNO
SERATI ™ After 10/31/21 through 1110121 $246 $34
It PLN;‘NE&:‘ONOP ‘ER(I;:g)“ After 11/10/21 through 11/30/21 $257 $40
YAt piAn Nt fo'operaie After 11/30/21 through 01/20722 $60
this vehicle, please check the box o Gl
and return the bottom part with
Your PNO payment. AFTER 01/2072022 $202  NOPNO
DETACH AND RETURN
+—Planned Nonoperation 021000  27272529270636 0022500 30413022070000
Change of Address (see back) 00050808000  000000G700 16211999 38 132z2n1a_ C040521F01 00355 p1oog;
For DMV Use Only /I h LICENSE NUMBER WMARE
l s | MAKE
A VIN
F DMV USE _DUEDATE _ AMOUNT DUE
D D D s 10/31/2021 $225

SwoA
MAKE PAYMENT TO:

e —r DMV RENEWAL
SACRAMENTO CA 95822-2547 P.O. BOX 942894
SACRAMENTO CA 94294-0894

R TET 1 T AR TR UETE  LTR

021000272725292706360022500304130220700000005040400000000067003621199938




PAPER
RENEWAL
NOTICE —
GROSS
POLLUTER
HOLD

AR A

VEHICLE REGISTRATION RENEWAL NOTICE

VIN MAKE

MITSU

YR BODYTYPE LIGENSEPLATE| [AMOUNTDUE DUEDATE |
2003 PK : $139 10/31/2021 |

Gross Polluter Hold: SMOG Certification Required at a
STAR station (See reverse side of notice).

(&3 Please take this notice to a STAR station. =1 )

/
To renew, just provide: FEES
REGISTRATION FEE $119
ILICENSE FEE (May be an income (ax deduction) $10
\ RENEWR Eoes ) WEIGHT FEE 58
SPEGIAL PLATE FEE $0
Hi? ( SMOG Certification )(see reverse side of notice) COUNTY/DISTRICT FEES $2

= ( Return by MAIL only’

5

PLANNED NONOPERATION
If you plan not to operate (PNO)
this vehicle, please check the box
and return the bottom part with
your PNG payment.

Planned Nonoperation

Change of Address (see back)
{ For DMV Use Only
l s

O oo J

—mszosa-qazo

020301

00050206000 0000007100 16211999 52 teuna CO40521FO1 00045 rionor
LICENSE NUMBER MAKE

OWNER RESPONSIBILITY FEE $0

TOTAL DUE ON OR BEFORE 105772051 §734]

OR $23 TO FILE PLANNED NONOPERATION

LATE PAYMENT b

POSTMARKED RENEWAL  PNO

After 10/31/21 through 11/10121 3161 335

After 11/10/21 through 11/30/21 $173 342

After 11/30/21 through 01/29/22 $210 364

AFTER 01/20/2022 3210 NOPNO

DETACH AND RETURN
03160400050000 0013900 3041270908000

DMV USE DUE DATE _ AMOUNT DUE
1013112021 $139
- s

MAKE PAYMENT TO:

DMV RENEWAL
P.0O. BOX 942897
SACRAMENTO CA 94297-0897

il oot gty o gy e s

020301031604000500000013900304127090460000000502060000000007100%4621199952




DIGITAL
RENEWAL
NOTICE

=7

'DEPARTHIENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES”

California Department of Motor Vehicles

dmv.ca.gov
1-800-777-0133

DMV Registration Renewal Notice

From: DoNotReply@dmvonline.ca.gov
Subject line: DMV [insert Vehicle, Boat/Vessel, Trailer] Renewal Notice
Bodly:

[insert customer’s first name],

Your [insert vehicle, boat/vessel, trailer] registration will be expiring soon.

Attached is a breakdown of your fees a
renewal.

Pay your [insert vehicle, boat

Online
DMV Virtual Fi

Through a Bus

If the [insert vehicle, boat/vessel, trailer] will not be used, you may place the [insert
vehicle, boat/vessel, trailer] in Planned Non-Operation status.

The mailing address on record is:

[Insert Street Address]

[Insert City, State Zip]
This is the address your new registration and sticker will be mailed fo. If it is not the
correct address, please complete and confirm a change of address online prior

to renewing your [insert vehicle, boat/vessel, frailer] registration.

Please note: If the location of your [insert boat/vessel, trailer] has changed, visit the
Virtual Field Office to change your address and complete your registration renewal.




DIGITAL

RENEWAL

NOTICE
CONTINUED)

IMPORTANT VEHICLE INFORMATION:

These links contain notices required to be provided by the Department of Motor
Vehicles. Please review these noftices of your legal obli regarding vehicle
registration in California.

o liability Insurance
e Vehicle Safety Recall Notice

o Ofther Information Related to Vehicle Re

Registration fees received after the rene i subject to penalties.

You should receive your new regi i ticker in the mail within two to four weeks
of completing your renewal.

Note: If you would like to reve er notices, log into your account and
update your Paperless Notfifi

This email was sent frol attended mailbox. Please do not respond using the
"Reply" button.




DIGITAL
RENEWAL e

N OT | C E S "!!""J!'E'!!!!!!"l'i'!!!&j'“"““"
ATTACHMENT *

OR $23 TO FILE PLANNED NONOPERATION

LATE PAYMENT
e calamand




BUSINESS PROCESS REVIEW

« Objective is to expedite testing and eliminate data entry
errors in the transcription of vehicle data

* Multiple ways to enter the VIN and License Plate into the
Analyzer (BAR OBD Inspection System (OIS) and BAR-97):

* VIN
« Scan from DMV registration renewal
« Scan from vehicle

* Manual entry

* License Plate
« Scan from DMV registration renewal

* Manually enter "



SUPPORTING DATA

« Data entry break down:
 VIN
» Scan from DMV registration renewal — 55%
« Scan from vehicle — 41%

« Manual entry — 4%

* License Plate
» Scan from DMV registration renewal — 55%

« Manually enter — 45%

13



NEXT STEPS

« Analysis of impact to existing business processes

« Evaluate and provide feedback on draft DMV electronic
registration renewal materials

« Evaluate potential changes to BAR-OIS

« Evaluate potential changes to BAR-97

* Protype and test updated business processes
« Gather supporting data / metrics

» Continuous improvement

14



QUESTIONS AND COMMENTS

Submit questions and/or comments to:

Chris Milhoan
Department of Motor Vehicles
2415 First Avenue M/S D168

Sacramento, CA 95818
Phone: 916-657-8425
Email: Christian.Milhoan@dmv.ca.qov

Clay Leek
Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N. Mather Boulevard

Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
Phone: 916-403-8600
Email: clayton.leek@dca.ca.qov



mailto:Christian.Milhoan@dmv.ca.gov
mailto:clayton.leek@dca.ca.gov
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